“I am” on Sarah Palin’s t-shirt at Iowa State Fair.



Sarah Palin showed up practically unannounced at the Iowa State Fair and drew a lot of attention. On the back of her t-shirt was hand-written the two words “I am”. Like always with Sarah Palin she is conveying a coded message. It is very cryptic. Let me see if I can shed some light on the message.
We have three possibilities: It is a theological message, it is a philosophical message or it is a political message.
Let us first take the theological message clue:
After Jesus had forgiven the woman caught in adultery, ending up with “Neither do I condemn you, Go and sin no more” he got into an argument with the Pharisees saying
John 8:56-59 New International Version (NIV)
56 Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad.”
57 “You are not yet fifty years old,” they said to him, “and you have seen Abraham!”
58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” 59 At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.
Why did they pick up stones? They perceived rightly that Jesus in his statement “I am” clamed equality with YHWH, which means I am. [GOD].
There is zero probability that was what Sarah meant, so let us go to the second possibility, the philosophical message:
“Cogito ergo sum”. I think, therefore I am, advanced by René Descartes. This is to refudiate the notion she is an air-head, showing she has superior intellect relative to – at least Obama, who, with the exception of the book “Dreams from my Father”, has shown zero intellectual capacity.
That’s possible, but far more likely is the political message:
I am ……… ??
How about running for president?
Naaw, that would be too far-fetched even for Fox News, who to a man state “She is not running”.
What do you think?

Addendum: 8/14.
This is the t-shirt she wore:

3 Comments

  1. jeaneeinabottle
    Posted August 13, 2011 at 9:46 pm | Permalink

    omg you are right, omg it’s so simple, it’s so her, I love that woman! 🙂

  2. Aeronomer
    Posted August 14, 2011 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    Actually, the shirt had a bunch of slogans about love on it. I suspect it’s just some T-shirt she decided to wear.

  3. lenbilen
    Posted August 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    Right you are. The rest of the message on her t-shirt says: i am M(heart)M.
    The choosing of this particular t-shirt was deliberate. She still strings us on.
    I am running for president, I am thinking (about it), I am first and foremost a MOM.
    Dependent on your bias, the interpretation is up to you. She is incredibly intelligent in choosing her messages!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*