Sarah Palin and Health Care



The time goes all the way back to the surprise nomination of Sarah Palin for Vice President. Not knowing anything about her except that she had just successfully negotiated a contract for building a natural gas pipeline from Alaska to the lower 48 I watched with interest her debut on the national stage. And there she came, complete with a baby, prominently displayed front and center. Suddenly I saw before my eyes the quote from Isaiah 11:6 (NIV + Septuagint)
The wolf will live with the lamb,
the leopard will lie down with the goat,
the calf and the lion will feed together;
and a little child will lead them.

I searched the internet for the importance of this baby. It was already buzzing with information. One of the first quotes I came across was that “she refused proper prenatal care”. This was when I found out this baby had Down Syndrome. Since we are talking health care reform, are we going to force everybody to submit to “proper prenatal care”? I do not know much about this except that three people I know had tested positive for having a baby with Down syndrome. All three chose to carry the baby to term, and gave birth to perfectly normal babies. One of the babies is now in middle school, one is in college, and one, my niece, just graduated from Med School.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

